Quick finishing options?

Jesse

What would you guys say are the quickest and easiest finishing options? I've been pretty happy with mineral oil, but I'm becoming more interested in stains as well, say, to make poplar, maple or birch look like dark mahogany or walnut?

What are the laziest most efficient methods you know of?

More to the point, I would like to stain these cabinets tomorrow and be done with them:

post-4932-0-64117600-1313467117_thumb.jppost-4932-0-29229200-1313467128_thumb.jp

Thanks!

I just had a very good first experience spraying General Finishes PolyAcrylic with the Earlex HVLP. I was able to get 4 coats of finish done in an afternoon/evening. I have no experience staining so I can't comment there other than make sure you do a test board.

What would you guys say are the quickest and easiest finishing options?

Probably latex wall paint applied with a disposable roller. You can make your poplar as dark as you want that way. :)

Seriously, I've slowly (very slowly) come to accept the idea that finishing isn't something you should rush through or dismiss as a nuisance to be dealt with after the project is "done". Like everything else, it takes practice to learn how to do it, and time to do it well. And like it or not, an awful lot of what other people think of a project will depend on the finish.

I can't add to Konkers's advice on staining. Just get a can of something, read the instructions on the can, and practice on scraps until you get what you want and develop some confidence in your technique.

As for a topcoat, Marc's wipe-on polyurethane recipe is hard to beat for durable and foolproof. It's not quick, though; I think it involves five or six coats with a bit of sanding after each one is (fully) dry. Not something you can do "tomorrow".

Lecture mode off. :)

-- Russ