This May Be A Stupid Question

ThCubed

I am somewhat new to woodworking, but not a beginner. However, I have never attempted this, and I haven't heard of anyone else doing it, so maybe there is a good reason for it. I recently had a very large oak tree fall in my yard. As my husband was cutting it up for firewood, I asked him to cut me a circle about an inch or so thick. I am thinking of making a table out of it. The circle is about 25" across. Would this be a mistake? Can a table be made from a circle of oak (white oak, I believe)? Is there going to be an issue of cracking? What other issues should I watch out for? Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

Thank you,

Terry

As it shrinks, you'll get cracking. Best idea is to "pre-crack" it. Make a radial cut from the outside to the middle now. As it dries and shrinks, that cut will open up and cracking elsewhere will be minimized. Then you just need to figure out what you want to do artistically with the pie-shaped wedge that opened up. Since the circle is all end-grain, it'll dry quickly so you might want to slow it down a bit to help with the cracking. Could be a fun project; be sure to post it!

This is a very cool thing to do! The key is going to lay in the drying. If it hasn't already been cut I think I would probably go a little thicker (2-3") to allow for a good finished thickness.