Finishing. Bought the book. Bought the DVD. Still have questions.

MidKnight

Marc:

I'm a beginning woodworker that has gotten a lot from your website and shows. Thank you for that. In fact, my first piece of furniture borrowed heavily from your Gadget Station legs. See below:

http://woodtalkonlin...ture-done-pics/

Where I'm really lacking is finishing. I bought your book and your DVD. They are full of great information. However, I can say that I would like you to expand in one area. You see, during the DVD you show us how to finish a flat piece of wood with the simple wipe on finish. But unless I finish all the parts of a piece before assembly, this isn't super practical. How do you wipe on a finish when you have a whole piece with all the inside corners? How do you secure your piece as you finish it? Is it up off the bench?

I hope you see what I'm driving at. And if you do have a video that shows the simple wipe on finish being applied to a whole piece and I've missed it, please, send me in the right direction.

Thank you in advance for any response.

for me unless its a cramed full day and i have a deadline i usualy put a layer on the upside of a project. for example i put a coat on the surfaces of a box pointing up. after it dries a bit 4-6 hours depending on humidity i flip it over and finish another side takes longer can be a few days before im done but with small iteams you want the finish to be as good as the project. i usualy use whipe on poly like min wax brand. for the first couple layersi just whip it on all surfaces and it does not run but the last coats i put a little thicker and take my time. as for keeping it off the table i use the centers of pizza's the three leged plastic pieces. just lay them down and have the points hold up the project. alot cheaper then those plastic triangles they sell in magizines for any price and you can get a pizza out of the deal mmmmmmmmmm

Duck: