Roughsawn lumber and Moisture Meter recommendation?

secutanudu

I got some 4/4 roughsawn ash and maple. He said the ash is 5 years old, maple about 8-9 months. Some of the ash was wet from being stored outside, but not too bad, I assume it'll clean up nicely. I am assuming I need to get a meter to check when the wood is ready to use. I see this one on rockler for $25, is it good enough or is something more expensive worth it (or even necessary)?

http://www.rockler.com/product.cfm?page=30937&site=ROCKLER

What target moisture % should I be shooting for?

Is there anything I should know when looking at roughsawn lumber? I am not experienced to know if it's a good piece of wood or not without it being cleaned up.

Thanks!

That meter looks fine to me. I wouldn't mind having it. The one I have you have to consult a chart and find the species your checking because it's calibrated for fur.

When I get rough cut material I always take a knife to a edge or run a block plane to it real quick in a small spot. Just to get a look at it.

Check the end grain for the type of cut and that will give ya an idea of the grain patterns on the face.

Make sure if you get 4/4 it measures a heavy inch. Some mills I've ran into will mill too small and after drying you get shorted that full inch.

If you're getting wet wood it should measure around an 1 1/8 - 1 1/4 easy.

I feel good about working with wood that reads 12% or lower. 9% or lower is real good. It also depends on where you live. I still use the woodshop widget to foreshadow any movement.

I love rough sawn. Mill it right and you get nice, true, and stable parts.

Later

• Like 1

Would the cheaper one be worthwhile? I can't afford to spend that much right now...