Hi-dee-hoe from Provo, Utah

sawdustislife

Hey all,

I'm just a fuzzball of excitement and energy! Not really. I'm an eternal student. I think I'm on about my 9th or 10th year of college in pursuit of a BS. I was originally an Aviation Science major (just have one FAA test left to finish that one) and currently I'm an Information Systems major. It isn't what I want to do the rest of my life, but I'm hoping it gives me a good fall back plan if I ever give full time furniture building a go and discover no one likes my work. I served in the Marine Corps reserves for about 9 years and went on a world tour in 2003 on Uncle Sam's nickel. Got to see a lot of Asian countries as well as a quick spin through Kuwait and Iraq. Lovely people, not so lovely place.

I got into woodworking after I got out of the Marines in early 2004 trying to build a digital picture frame out of an old laptop. It's been a non-stop slide into full addiction since. My shop is a 1+ car detached garage that currently measures about 275 square feet. Not huge, but it works for now. I'm something of a hybrid woodworker - lots of power tools but a fair assortment of hand tools that see use on pretty much every project.

I mostly build tables but I'm also trying to venture into the world of chair building. What's a table without something to sit on? I don't spend nearly as much time in the shop as I'd like. I'm still going to school full-time and I work full-time with a small financial software development company managing the training of software coaches and creating tutorials and updating knowledge bases.