walnut and hard maple cutting board, 1000 +1, debriefing

Christoph

cutting board 1000 +1 :rolleyes:  , debriefing

Hello all,

I hope you folks are not getting bored or annoyed with another cutting board thread.

It is my first time cutting board and my first time using raw sawn hardwood, so for me it was a kind of excitement if everything turns out well.
When I picked the wood from the local lumberyard I wasn't convinced anymore if this is really a good idea. However, I ordered the cutting board package from Bell Forest too late to arrive prior to the long weekend. So if I wanted something to do during the weekend I had to go the "raw sawn wood" route.
Finally I went home from the lumberyard with two pieces of raw-sawn hard maple and walnut, each approx. 2x9x 34". While the piece of maple was only a little bowed the walnut was also twisted, which I didn't realize when I chose it.

post-14659-0-95003500-1402073078_thumb.j

In lack of a jointer I had to plane one face with my #5 hand plane, before I could send it through my planer. The first really serious mission for my hand plane.
I planed one side of each board as good as possible, then send it carefully through my DeWalt planer until both pieces were nicely flat. The result was not  hundred percent perfect, most likely due to my inability to make a good plane surface with my hand plane, however it seemed good enough for a cutting board, so I continued.

post-14659-0-05094000-1402073081_thumb.j

post-14659-0-85115900-1402073447_thumb.j

I used Marks plan for the design. I then cut the pieces on the table saw and send them pairwise through the planer again to make sure they have equal thickness.

post-14659-0-40096600-1402073566_thumb.j

So far so good. The first round of gluing was easy, everything had the same thickness and came nicely together.  Plenty of glue was dripping on the uncovered table and clamps :(  .... so no glue starving joints to expect :rolleyes: .

post-14659-0-36981200-1402073685_thumb.j