quick finishing question

Scott Bailey

I hope this isn't a silly question but I am still fairly new to this and feeling a bit ignorant, and I have a "process" question that's probably really basic.  I'm refinishing an outdoor table and chairs that I've had for years (and my 2 previous finishing efforts were less than poor, we'll just leave it at that).

I've stripped off all the old finish no problem and revealed nice western red ceder, so I don't want to stain it at all. i'm going to put a simple oil/spar varnish blend on it. I've already tested on scrap and like it, even with the slight amber from the linseed oil which seems to really bring out the red in the wood... but I have not started finishing the actual work yet...

my question is pretty simple.  when I put the finish on a piece, I have to set it down somewhere to dry and cure, I have some scrap 2x4s that will do the job but I don't know how to avoid the 2x4s leaving little marks on the wood after it cures.  Because of the oil in the finish (I'm using a variation of Marc's Desert outdoor finish) this will have a longer drying time.  will light sanding between coats make this no problem?  or is there some other trick I'm missing?  I'd rather have some knowledge before hand than try to fix something and not really know how...

thx in advance :)