Why Bevel Up? Why Bevel Down?

Bobby Slack

I am very new to the use of handtools. Of course like many of us, influenced first by Marc showing how you can fine tune a joint and make it perrrrrrrrrrrrrrfect. Fair enough. This became like an addiction when you go to the weight room ans as you get better, the goals change and you become more and more a lifter.

More and more a user of handtools and consider them more as a mainstream part of a shop rather than the exception.

Having said all of that I decided to invest all in one company because my belief that loyalty pays off, and it has.

Putting that aside. Ford Vs Chevy (I drive a Toyota). ....

Putting that aside. What is the feature that a bevel up tool will provide versus a bevel down? I am talking about adjustments, change of the angle, sharpening etc.

Many recommend the bevel up and I am curious. I like buying my planes and only sharpening them at 30degrees like Daneb's article states on Fine Woodworking.

OK I said enough! Let the games begin!

Thanks a lot for sharing this. These plains look pricey to me. I invest quite a bit of money on Lie Nielsen's tools, one day I will have a few of these ones as well.

Take care.

Bobby,

No games, I'm just tired of it all--burned out on it. There's some information on this on Konrad Sauer's blog and I said all I need to in the comments there.

http://sauerandsteiner.blogspot.com/2010/07/up-down-bevels-that-it.html

Bobby,

Lie-Nielsen makes a full line of bench planes that don't have the clearance angle issues of the 12º bevel-up planes. In the comments on Konrad's blog there was some confusion between 20º and 12º bevel-up planes and I have to wonder if it wasn't intentional. 20º bedding is a different animal and Stanley knew what they were doing offering both 12º and 20º bedded block planes.

I like bevel down planes. The good thing about bevel down planes is that it's easier to manage the wear bevel when sharpening.