Moving from a one man to a 2 man shop?

CJC5151

I have recently decided to get some help in the shop because of the ammount of work i have.  My question is any of you guys done this before.  Since ive been doing this by myself for a few years now i have a process i go through.  Im having a hard time hitting that grove with anothers person in the shop.  I guess im having a hard time allowing myself to delegate work...anybody else go through this and what did you come up with

Having an employee changes the game. You need to understand productivity. If your employee is not productive he is a loss. That starts with you, if your not producing 100% then you need to make changes before ever thinking about employees. First your shop has to be equipped for you to produce alone at 100%. If you could be more productive by buying a particular machine rather than putting out site insurance, L&I insurance payroll taxes and payroll your better off with the machine as an asset. For example if your doing cabinets and find you need a guy to help with sheet goods then you are better off buying a affordable panel saw. If your using router tables instead of shapers then your costing yourself time and money.

Dont let employees become a loss. They are there to make you money.

• Like 1

• 2 weeks later...

If you are a one man shop, I would not recommend hiring an untrained helper. Don/PB has the concept nailed. Only big shops have the buffer to absorb the loss that happens during the training phase. If you cannot handle the loss then you cannot afford to hold anyone's hand. The first time the employee looks at you for direction for anything less than a complicated task then you have to let them go. If you need to tell them how to do the job (this includes safety) then they are losing you money. The best employee in this shop would be one who only comes to you for QC once the assigned tasks are completed. This QC helps you align your standards focused on excellence.