yard sale find - TYZACK 8 Inch Brass Back '120' saw in new condition

nod

Can anyone tell me what I found here? A guy in the neighborhood was clearing out some junk, some tools, etc.. I picked up a couple small planes to sharpen and try (I don't own any yet, and researched these aren't anything special), BUT, the saw is in brand new shape. It's still got a hang tag on it and plastic blade guard (all in a plasticy display bag).

I'll post some pics tomorrow, but wondering if anyone can tell me what i've got here? All I can find is some place in Australia that was selling a pretty worn used version. I can't really find any other info. From that one, it seems like it could be collectible, but is it? I'm just a wannabe woodworker here, and am working on collecting some moderate starter tools. thanks.

That's a nice little saw. Keep it where the blade won't rust, and the teeth don't hit anything but the wood you want to cut.  Does it have the closed handle, or the open handle?  Both are worth about the same.  It's not a really old saw, but a very capable one.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/TYZACK-8-Inch-Brass-Back-Dovetail-Saw-/400508067911?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item5d40242047

It's got a closed handle. and with it's the plastic blade cover, seems to be completely unused and ready to roll. Figure this tool might do better in some more seasoned hands. maybe I should sell it to pay for that Veritas 3 saw set. any takers?  ^_^

The saw is unused. There is a bit of wear on a rivet head or two from what I guess is removing and replacing the saw in it's sale bag. The handle is about the same. The "1812" card is a hang tag still attached to the handle.

post-14137-0-54544200-1372719325_thumb.j

post-14137-0-01066300-1372719334_thumb.j

post-14137-0-94813200-1372719339_thumb.j