Shop fox lathes?

Sammw1990

I am a broke college student who would love to have a small lathe while in school. Back home, at my parents house I have a 60 year old Delta/Rockwell full size lathe. It still works great. But, being in college and living in rent houses I don't want to drag the large delta around. And my dad uses it from time to Time. Therefore, I am interested in a smaller lathe with which I could turn bowls and such. Money is tight. Has anyone had experience with shop fox lathes? Any suggestion are appreciated. Also I would buy used if I could find the right deal. Thanks Sam

one problem is they tend to not stay  lined up and sometimes the motors will not always kick over when you turn it on.  if you want to turn then buy your last tool first save up for it if you really like turning you wont regret it.  maybe get a midi like delta. little pricer but from what I have heard fox is a quality tool

As to the Delta, I have one as well, but right now, I cannot in good conscience recommend it.  The machine itself is great, and I will continue to use it.  However, lately I have been hearing more and more of Delta having serious problems as a business.  Until the company itself stabilizes I can't recommend them.  For example, getting parts or tool accessories is nearly impossible.  I can't find the bed extension for it right now.

However, I did see Jet has come out with a new midi lathe, 1221VS.  I looked this machine over at Woodcraft, and found it to be a very even match to the Delta.

Thanks, yes in a perfect world, I would save money for a Jett. I've look on Craigslist, there is nothing in my area that is also in my budget. I have also look at Rikon mini lathes at Woodcrafters. I assume that if they carry Rikon lathes, that they must be worthy/dependable? It sucks, because I have really gotten into turning but my parents house is two hours away and I rarely have time to spend there. It is frustrating not being able to come home and work on a project.