Hello form Escalon CA

ocdrums

Hi to everyone out there, my name is Jeff and I am an extremely green woodworker here in the central valley of California. I was wondering how many of you mail order your lumber? I am having a hell of a time finding anything other than Oak, Birch and White Pine, and thats at my local Lowes, so its all beat to heck. If anyone is out there from the area, let me know what you do for stock. Thanks!

Jeff -

I live in the East Bay, and understand you are still a little ways away in the Central Valley, but if you happen to make it to Oakland ever there is a great place called PALS or Plywood And Lumber Supply at 1618 28th St in Oakland. They have a ton of amazing lumber there. The hours can be hard sometimes but definitely worth a trip and fun to go through. If I hear about anything else a bit closer like Stockton I'll let you know.

Take care

Bryan

Hi Jeff,

You don’t need to mail order material. You are close enough to hand pick almost anything you need.

The Woodsman in Stockton (I haven’t been to) may be someplace to check out:

http://www.thewoodsman.net/

I go to Hughes Hardwoods in Rancho Cordova (11441 Sunrise Gold Circle, Rancho Cordova, CA 95742, (916) 638-8658) a lot for material. In looking up the address, they show a Stockton location too:

3625 Stevenson Ave

Stockton, CA 95205-2409

(209) 464-2334

As for as a local sawyer, I’ve also run across the website for Ron Trout in Twain Harte (again I haven’t been there):

http://westcoastlands.net/index.html

There is an Aura Hardwoods in Modesto:

107 South Riverside Drive

Modesto, CA 95354-4004

(209) 579-2872

Aura is also in Rancho Cordova:

2477 Mercantile Drive

Rancho Cordova, CA 95742

Traveling a little farther:

Macbeath Hardwoods in Berkeley (I use them a lot):

http://macbeath.com/