Question - Re: Hand plane for small/thin stock

Bahnzo

I make small boxes using very thin (1/8") stock. One problem that I have is cutting it to exact specs. Making a 2" by 4" box with 1/8" stock makes any variance in the cut very noticeable. So, one option I've been thinking about is using a shooting board to plane my cut pieces so they are exact both in size and straightness. Up to now I've been simply sanding pieces down, but that still leaves some error, especially when it comes to squaring it up perfectly.

My question is, what hand plane would work best for my needs? I'd be planing pretty small pieces, so it seems a full size plane might be too large for my purposes. I've only just started reading about planes, so I'm still learning. Price is also a consideration...I can't afford the best out there, but realize I might need to spend some money to achieve the results I'd like.

I make small boxes using very thin (1/8") stock. One problem that I have is cutting it to exact specs. Making a 2" by 4" box with 1/8" stock makes any variance in the cut very noticeable. So, one option I've been thinking about is using a shooting board to plane my cut pieces so they are exact both in size and straightness. Up to now I've been simply sanding pieces down, but that still leaves some error, especially when it comes to squaring it up perfectly.

My question is, what hand plane would work best for my needs? I'd be planing pretty small pieces, so it seems a full size plane might be too large for my purposes. I've only just started reading about planes, so I'm still learning. Price is also a consideration...I can't afford the best out there, but realize I might need to spend some money to achieve the results I'd like.