What does it mean to be a "Pro?"

adamking

You always hear it tossed about in the woodworking circles. Going pro. Wow. The very phrase conjures romantic images of quaint workshops and piles of handplane shavings under your feet. But, when you get down to it, what exactly is a "professional woodworker?"

Is this someone who makes their entire living through woodworking, or can it be just a part of their income? Is it someone with special training through school or apprenticeship, or can self taught woodworkers be included?

Also, at what point in your skill level do you suddenly become professional? Is there a benchmark, or is it a matter of opinion?

There's a lot of questions and viewpoints regarding this simple term. So, let's hear them. What does it mean to you to be considered a pro woodworker? Also, are you there? Are you considered a pro? If so, why?

Alright. Enough from me. Let's hear from you.

Honestly, for me the goal is mastery. Yes, I'd like to get to a point I can make a fair living from woodworking and will put in the time to do the "business" side, but it's more important that I become very good and create pieces that I'm extremely happy to have my name on.

In my opinion a pro is someone who has devoted time to learning their craft and is skilled at their craft.

Has the ability to make an income from their craft. This can be supplement or main income.

A pro is someone that also has the skills, knowledge and confidence to teach others their craft.

A pro will also have good business skills so they can maintain an income or a living from their craft.

Here's a different take - I came up with this when I was a young man working at my first "professional" job, and I was wondering what the difference was between a "professional" and just someone who had a job. I think it's true for woodworking, too.