Help getting consistent teak oil finish! A tale of two doors!

Phoinikos

Any help getting this finish to look at all uniform would be greatly appreciated!!

I am completely new to woodworking and finishes.  We moved into a barge in London with a great wooden pilothouse, but whose varnish was so old that it had completely worn through in several areas, leaving bare rotted/graying/pitted wood.  Trying to be useful, I thought I'd remove the old varnish then refinish with teak oil.

What I did:

On the LEFT door, I sanded only.  The right-hand vertical piece of this door is the look I'd hoped to get.  I sanded it down using only 120 grit paper on a 1/3 sheet sheet sander.  It took near 2 hours for just that one piece!

Hoping to speed things up (I know, always the culprit), I switched to 60 grit paper, followed by 120 for the rest of the left door.  It was...ok, but it seemed that I got a much grainer(?) appearance with more blotching, particularly on the left-hand vertical piece.

So, on the RIGHT door, I used a varnish stripper.  Worked it in for a few minutes, let it sit for 20-30 minutes and then scraped and used a wire scourer to get the gunk off.  THEN I sanded, starting at 60 grit, then 120, then 240.  

Now what???  I don't know what wood I'm working with, but I'm starting to think I need a pre-conditioner or shellac washcoat to prevent the blotching.  While I think that could help the blotchiness, I'm not confident at all that it would address the issue causing the two doors to look so different!  Do I just need to sand a lot more after using the varnish stripper? Or should I just ditch it entirely and just resign myself to spending the next month sanding the pilothouse?!?

Any and all ideas would be greatly appreciated!

resized2.jpg

resized1.jpg

resized3.jpg

resized4.jpg