New to turning

Andy Faust

Hey I'm new to turning I've turned alittle in my high school shop. But that's been a few years and I never really got good at it. Looking to purchase my own lath I don't have any tools looking at the easy wood tools and thinking of getting a jet lath to turn mostly bowls but able to do table legs. Any suggestions for a beginner would be great thanks 

Check out this thread

I discussed some of the things you'll encounter deciding on a new lathe. 

Carbide tools are good if you don't have a good sharpening system for HSS tools.  Keep those tools sharp. 

Set yourself up with a simple DC system if you don't already have one.  Especially for sanding.  At the very least, a shop vac to keep the mess down. 

Face Shield!  Bowls can easily crack and get launched across the room.  Get a face shield and wear it.  

Same goes for a dust mask!

Read, ask, and watch.  There's a number of great books out there on beginning turning skills, "WoodTurning, A foundation Course" by Keith Rowley helped me out.  There a lot of great wood turners on Youtube, look around, watch some videos, get some ideas.   Mike Waldt is one I used to learn some techniques from.   And ask questions.

Oh, and expect to invest way more than you thought you would.  There's always that "Well dangit, now I need that tool" syndrome.    Chucks are notorious for this.   Get a chuck, and then realize you need another set of jaws. 

If you're interested in pen turning along with everything else, check out some of the deals that Penn State Industries has for lathes and Kits.  I have one of their lathes and I'm pretty happy with it.  You can get some full kits that will have you turning that day, and producing good stuff.