Bathroom wood veneer refinishing mishap

Midcenturydreamer

Hi all, I’m a major newbie but an enthusiastic one at that.  I’m determined to wood veneer my cheapo mdf previously vinyl veneered bathroom cabinet. I did ok with the first step, of the actual edging the face frame and then veneering and edging door.  I mean, it wasn’t pro level by any stretch, but for my first time, I was content with the result.  I used psa walnut wood veneer, plain sliced.  

Heres a pic of the raw finished veneer job. 

Now, the problems started when I wanted to stain the veneer.  I love the Midcentury look, so I wanted it a touch darker than the raw veneer, but a finish that would seal the wood from water spots and look smooth but not glossy.  After watching several videos online, I decided on using danish oil.  I chose a medium walnut at my local home Improvement store.  Mistake number one, didn’t test a patch of the veneer first with color and was instantly disappointed bc was too dark.  I wanted light walnut, which I purchased later, tested properly and loved.  Ugh!!!! 

so didn’t want to sand the thin veneer down and waste that money, so I just applied second coat, wiped off excess and was accepting of it.  Didn’t look bad at all, just not exactly what I’d wanted.  Like I said, I’m a newbie, so all the epic fails, I’ll make them, but it’s about learning and growing from those mishaps, so I’m all for that.  Happens to us all.