Spray on poly over arm-r-seal?

Nick2cd

Nick, I have not used any of the Arm-R-Seal products so I went over to Rockler to look at the product description. If it is a urethane it should be fine by itself.

Pick a product and stick with it if it works. As a pro I use different products than yourself, but the principles that guide you should be the same. Pick a product that can be applied in as few steps as possible, is easy to apply with the means that you have, and is durable.

Pick the product that gives you the finish you want. If you want a satin finish, do not pick gloss or semi-gloss then steel wool the sheen down. Pick the satin product from the beginning.

I do not mess with chemistry very much. The companies do that for me, that is what I pay them for every time that I pop open a can of finishing product. They are developing the product for me to make it an easy application that provides durable and satisfying results. Straying from the can's specs or mixing products only exposes you to more risk of failure.

Another thing, I do not use wax on any of my products nor do I recommend any sort of furniture polish. I have been able to do repairs successfully if the surface is not contaminated with such products.

I do not mess with chemistry very much. The companies do that for me, that is what I pay them for every time that I pop open a can of finishing product. They are developing the product for me to make it an easy application that provides durable and satisfying results. Straying from the can's specs or mixing products only exposes you to more risk of failure.

Years ago, I was able to take advantage of hands-on pro finishing training. Our instructor referred to what Todd is writing as "systemizing"... Manufacturers go to great lengths to ensure each step with their product is compatible with the last, and that there will be no long term negative effects.