tool set-up

linkmx674

i am new to woodworking and trying to get my tools setup. i think my jointer is off a bit? it seems to me that my fence is square to the table but it seems like i am off when i check the board after a pass when i check with machinist sq. i but marks on the board to see if it all cleans up and it does? i am not taking a real heavy cut and should try a deeper pass??? i dont have all the tools like indicators and all tose fancy tools for set up. im just using what i have and that pretty much my machinist squares. my jointer is brand new . will my tools ever be perfect or?? the funny thing is-is that i work for an orthopeadic company and i am a machinist there. i deal with .0005 tolerances all the time. is .010 thousandths to bad??

Adjust your cutter to your table then the fence to the table. Will your tools ever be perfect? Its really not all that important for them to be "perfect", there is a close enough factor in woodworking. I dont own all the fancy dial indicators and gizmos, never have never will just not necessary. There are lots of ways to get things done without spending money on "convienences". If you have a good square you can accomplish most any adjustment task.

Don

don how do i adjust cutter to table? i have a grizzly 6''. i did the set up when i bought jointer for top dead center of blade for outfeed table? is that what you r saying or another adjustment? you have been alot of help on my post thank you. i will try to make more adjustments. i may have to call one of my woodworkers freinds to make a trip over to help me. chad

Dials and indicators can help you get set up, but I agree with Don - there are lots of ways to get something done.