Question about some cherry wood I have

SeanWalker

So last weekend I went out to the garage to continue building some end tables and the wood is fine. Come today, the wood is warped pretty bad. It requires too taking off too much to be able to use for my 3/4 parts. What can cause it to change like that? The wood was purchased from a sawmill and was kiln dried.It got pretty warm out today compared to last weekend, could that have anything to do with it?

Thanks

I'm not an expert, but if humidity warped 'em, I guess drying them out could flatten them. I'd sticker them with a lot of weight, and if you can put them somewhere dry (like with an air conditioner or dehumidifier). But I hope someone with more experience will chime in. It seems odd that one day of high humidity could warp them that badly.

So last weekend I went out to the garage to continue building some end tables and the wood is fine. Come today, the wood is warped pretty bad. It requires too taking off too much to be able to use for my 3/4 parts. What can cause it to change like that? The wood was purchased from a sawmill and was kiln dried.It got pretty warm out today compared to last weekend, could that have anything to do with it?

Thanks

Moisture left the board on one side. Was it just sitting on your bench or the floor?

• Like 1

The vertical did not help. I am not perfect by any means, just saying though. I always keep em on the floor, with weight, not iron, on them. You can use iron, just put it on something to make the iron not touch the wood. But I also air dry in my shop. I have a cross current thought the windows along with a dehumidifier and I latex paint the ends. Have not had a problem ever.

I took a moister counter to a few boards and they are 5 to 8% which isn't bad. I'm stumped and kind of mad that this much wood is kind of worthless.