1st serious project, acclimating wood, deep dark wood

Klausbird

Marc,

First, just want to say thanks for all your efforts over the years. You have inspired me many times and provided many answers. I appreciate your help, hard work, and humor.

Ive been a home woodworker for several years, when time permits. This past year I decided to start what I consider to be my first serious project. I'm designing and building a set of bedroom furniture. Might be biting off more than I can chew! In this project I'm doing a few things for the first time. Like using a hardwood dealer, and staining the wood.

Anyway, to get to my questions. My wife and I would like the furniture to be a deep dark color. I've experimented with your Java gel stain on hard maple, cherry, and walnut. I tried it with and without shellac under it. Walnut seems to be the only one I can get deep and dark. This is my first time venturing out with new types of wood, and I wanted your opinion on walnut and any other you might recommend for a deep dark solution.

Also, what is your recommendation for time to acclimate the rough sawn wood in my shop before starting to work with it? Does it depend on the type of wood? Do I need to further acclimate it after milling it? This project is important to me, and I don't want to ruin a bunch of expensive wood.

Thanks for your time,

Klaus

Hi Klaus. Welcome to the craft and the forum!

When it comes to staining something deep and dark, I usually recommend going with the least expensive wood you can get away with. Have you looked into alder? Not the most durable stuff but will save you a bundle. It also stains well with a little help. I'd recommend Charles Neil's Blotch Control formula: http://www.thewoodwhisperer.com/articles/blotch-control-to-rule-them-all/