New member and a few questions about the roubo workbench

tdh36185

I joined the guild a few days ago and am excited about starting the roubo workbench. I am a novice woodworker, inherited some tools that I am still trying to figure out. I have contacted Benchcraft for the vises. It seems that red oak is the most prevalent hardwood that is available in my area.

Has anyone utilized red oak in their workbench?

Are there any downsides to using red oak?

I was also wondering if anyone, shame on me for asking, utilized sheet products for their workbench?

I see that Marc has a recent addition to the family, I know it is a rather specific item, but has a crib been suggested as a build? I know I would like to build one, maybe not as a guild build but maybe a possible side build?

I am excited about learning from other members and Marc. I have read that sometimes it is a good idea to take a class to learn about a different tool or method. This unfortunately is not an option for me (closest classes are a couple hours away and generally interfere with work schedules), I am limited to reading books and the information I can find online. I am glad that I stumbled upon Marc's website, I have already learned a lot from his free podcasts and look forward to learning more. There are some things that reading out of a book does not really teach you. Thanks for helping guide novices such as myself.

Red oak is inexpensive, hard, and stable. I can't see any reason NOT to use it if that's that you have easy access to.

Aaron used LVL for his workbench and you can see a little video tour of his bench in the Roubo video set.