Wood, will you please stop moving...

Wood's Awesome

I am new to woodworking, and I am curious about wood movement. I haven't found a topic in the forum dedicated to wood movement (although it is entirley possible I missed it), so I thought I'd start one so myself and others can learn about it.

I'm curious if all kinds of wood, from the basic common woods to exotic woods, warp, expand, and contract with weather changes and what other factors cause wood movement??

Also, when does the movement of wood affect how one joins together a wood project??

My small experience: I bought some pine wood, stored it in my garage for a few days, and when I came out to use it I sadly found that it had warped, so the 30 minutes I stood there trying to find the truest pieces was futile :blink: But when I bought some Poplar and stored it for a week, I noticed it didn't warp much at all :D

Any advice and shared experiences (I love reading other woodworker's experiences) on this topic would be much appriciated.

Wood's Awesome!! B)

The Woodshop Widget – The 3rd icon from the left is for calculating wood movement. The 2nd icon from the right allows comparison of 2 different woods including shrinkage. The 3rd icon from the right shows shrinkage of a particular wood. Kenneth Woodruff created this applet, and has just come out with an Android version. It’s on the same page as the widget link.

hhh, thanks for the link to Hoardly's book. I'll probably end up adding that to my book collection. It looks like it has a lot of information for someone like me according to the description/reviews.

On Board, I like that application. I carry a smartphone with me 24/7, but never thought about checking Google Play, thank you!

Thanks again for the info

Wood's Awesome!! B)