Finishing curly cherry for mantel clock

NJSoundman

Hey all,

I'm in the process of making a mantel clock out of some excellent curly cherry. I've never worked with figured/curly material before, and I want to do right by it.

I watched the TWW video about popping the grain on curly maple, but I'm wondering if this is an appropriate way to go with curly cherry. Looking at the selection of dyes, I'm not totally convinced that dye is the best coarse of action for cherry (or maybe I'm wrong?).

I've read a few things about doing a couple coats of BLO followed by shellac. I know that each board is different, so there's no way to know without testing on scraps - but has anyone gone this route, or can impart any wisdom on me for the best way to pop the curly cherry?

I would like it to have a durable finish, but nothing too glossy. Really just looking to accentuate the figure as much as possible.

Thanks!

Chris

In my experience, curly cherry is not nearly as figured as curly maple...unless you have some really special boards.  Most often I see figure in cherry where heartwood is getting near to sapwood, as opposed to the severely undulating end grain you find in curly maple.  And this type of figure is not as apt to pop as the curly maple because there won't be such a disparity in absorption between the different grains in the board.  If you're really curious, try some dye on a test board, but definitely don't jump in head first.  My instinct tells me you'll just get a muddled look...extremely blotchy instead of distinctly popped grain.