Furniture Backs

rbterhune

Hi All,

I'm a relatively new woodworker, with only a handful of projects under my belt. I, of course, have many others on my my list that I would like to do. When thinking about one of them...a dresser...I got to thinking about backs. My rambling, and hopefully not confusing, question is as follows:

With a dovetailed carcass/case, I see how easy it would be to do a frame and panel, ship lapped or plywood back set into a rabbet...but what about frame and panel pieces? A rabbet for most of the length of the leg doesn't seem appropriate to me for some reason. And let's say my piece has a 2" leg...if I do a frame and panel back with mortise and tenon joinery, will the back have the potential to get in the way of dust frames...I'm now down to 1.25" of leg that I can use for attaching dust frames if I use 3/4" stock for the back frame. Am I making any sense?

Thanks in advance.

B

Wtnhighlander...unfortunately no sketch. Yes, I've seen projects with the back panel made in 2 or more frame and panels, depending on the size of the piece. A large armoir I saw, for example, had 4 panels. The frame for these would obviously add some strength to the piece and help prevent tall sides from bowing. Yes, Woodbutcher's idea would serve the same purpose, but I like the idea of having an attractive back...I know it's a little odd.