Glue up table legs

Boxmaker

I apologize in advance for asking a question that has most likely already been asked, but i could not find it in the forum.

I am fairly new to woodworking- at this point i am more of a virtual woodworker that an actual one. I am starting a small table project that requires 2" square legs.It is a G&G inspired table, but rather that use quarter sawn, i am using flat sawn red oak to save money. Rather than buy material this thick, i would like to use my exsiting supply of 3/4 thick material and glue it up. My question is this- what is the best technique? Should i glue the pieces together on the flat, leaving what I assume will be a glue line down the center of the legs, or should i miter 4 pieces and glue them together that way. I have a lock miter bit for my router table, but to be honest that thing scares me, not to mention the set up of it.

Thank you for your input!

I buried my Lock mitre bit beneath six inches of concrete that is my workshop floor.

As Jim says if you select your pieces carefully, use as many clamps as you can, and remember to put scrap pieces along the sides to protect the good stuff from dents, you'll be fine. Unless you have a lot of clamps you'll probably have to glue up a leg at a time, a pain perhaps but, believe me if you try and save time by clamping with too few you will regret it. A good clamp every four inches staggered on alternate sides should do just fine. Clamp them reasonably tight but, do not over tighten. It is a mistake to do so. Once you've got a good squeeze out of surplus glue and can not turn them without excessive effort they are tight enough.

Good luck

Thanks for the advice- I really appreciate it.