Finishing Pine Wood to Espresso Cherry Color

Saliya Ekanayake

Hi,

I am new to woodworking, so would appreciate some advice for the following.

I made a wall shelf like the one in Amazon at http://www.amazon.com/Welland-Lexington-Espresso-Unfinished-Color/dp/B00A6D82HE/ref=sr_1_36?ie=UTF8&qid=1362029605&sr=8-36&keywords=espresso+wall+shelf.

I used pine wood from http://www.menards.com/main/building-materials/lumber/construction-lumber/spruce-pine-fir-spf/1-x-4-x-6-select-pine-board/p-1934079-c-5689.htm

Now, I need to get it finished in espresso cherry color similar to the color in the attached (it's just espresso) image. I am bit confused over what kind of finishing product to use. I see some as wood stains, lacquer, etc., which I have very little idea about. 

Thanks in advance,

Saliya

post-13608-0-16093500-1362029742_thumb.j

There are a lot of ways to finish a piece like that.  It all depends what you have available to you in your shop.  If I was doing it at my shop I would stain the pine, then tone it to the shade I wanted, seal and then lacquer.  I am assuming you do not have a means of spraying.  Pine is tricky because it will stain very blotchy and inconsistently.  If I was in your situation I would use a 3 step finishing process.  First sand and prep the piece for finish.  Then put a coat of wax free shellac.  After that dries use a gel stain in the espresso color to stain the entire piece.  It may take a few coats to get it to the color you want.  Following manufacturer directions let dry and then top coat it with a wipe on poly or a gel poly for that matter.  Everyone has their methods for finishing, and I'm sure you will get other opinions.  Try different methods and use the one that works for you.  Good luck

This is just my 2c,

Whenever I want the color black (which to me is interchangable with espresso) I use india ink.  There wont be any brownish or redish overtones but it does give you the black if thats what your looking for.