Lathe question

Egraff

Hello, 

I have very little experience with lathes....  but someone I know is selling this lathe and I'm not sure whether or not it's a good buy. It is a Ryobi 18 inch, it is about 10 years old, and it has been used only a few times.  It also comes with the turning tools pictured.  

Can anyone tell if this lathe is missing any parts or if there is anything wrong with it?  I don't even know if this model (or even ryobi in general) is a good lathe that works well in the first place.  Or would I just be better off with a Jet or Harbor Freight?   I'd like to use it for pens and tool handles, etc. 

Thank you!!

post-6579-0-36158600-1379883391_thumb.jp

The lathe is fine for pen turning or small handles.  The tools are very nice.  and it has a Penn state ind. duplicator attachment. for making pens and other turnings quickly.  depending on the price it would be a good starter lathe.  Biggest thing to check is that the drive center lines up with the live center(the two points should tough each other).  

the tools alone cost at least 125 the duplicator looking at another 50 bucks the lathe I don't know im guessing in the 200-300 range make shure it has a tool rest and most lathes come with a faceplate.  let us know if you end up buying or not.   if  you get bit by the turning bug you will want more help and im glad to give you some advice. 

• 2 weeks later...

So I'm happy to report that I ended up picking up a lathe!!!