Oak Wood for Scroll Saw Puzzles

apgandriddle

So I just picked up several good size logs from an Oak tree recently cut down (past 2 days), and I am not sure if I should let them dry out completely BEFORE I start cutting them down to planks, or if it is okay as they are? My projects are to make several Rhino puzzle figures on the scroll saw. They will be used at the local youth group as something to play around with when they arrive every night. I am new to woodworking other than wood carving, so I figured I would ask the more experienced and knowledgeable crowd. Thank you for the help!

Mike Nunez

• Like 1

logs are typically slabbed (aka rough sawn) while green then allowed to dry before working into a finished product.   make sure to cut them thicker than needed; after they dry you'll be able to take them down to finished thickness.  1" thick slabs can take up to a year to dry; sometimes less depending on how they are stored (air flow, temp, etc)/

Welcome to the forum :)

• Like 1

logs are typically slabbed (aka rough sawn) while green then allowed to dry before working into a finished product.   make sure to cut them thicker than needed; after they dry you'll be able to take them down to finished thickness.  1" thick slabs can take up to a year to dry; sometimes less depending on how they are stored (air flow, temp, etc)/

Welcome to the forum :)

Thank you for the help! I actually am going to cut them this weekend down to size, and then set them out to dry. I really need to build a sun kiln, but that will be a bit down the road.