Epoxy Help

Pbmaster11

Because of its cost, I try to use it only for gluing things that PVA glue won't work on and for filling gaps. You can buy it with different cure times but I most often use 5 minute.

I've used it for filling knots, gluing lead to wood and when my zero clearance plate became not-so zero clearance, I filled it with epoxy and re-cut it. Some use it when a wood joint will undergo a lot of stress, but since a PVA glue joint is stronger than the wood, it seems to be an over-kill. I believe Mark used it to glue an end grain-to-end grain joint with loose tenons. Probably a good idea.

I'm new to the epoxy scene and would like some advice.

Why use it?

Great rigid strength; can bond to more materials than PVA. The rigidity is also a weakness: if your design relies on some give, it won't.

What to buy? Ive been seeing alot of West Systems. Two parts to the equation? Please explain?

I like the West System stuff. Got turned on to it my Marc a couple years ago. Reason? I like that you buy one resin then alter the epoxy by choosing from different hardeners. I buy the resin by the quart. I just recently bought my second quart and my first is still going strong. It keeps indefinitely as long as you keep the two parts separated :)

Two parts: it cures chemically, not through evaporation. The exact makeup of the epoxy is, from what I understand, a closely guarded secret. Hardeners from one brand may or may not harden the resins of another (and if they do, it may not be a good cure). Stick to one vendor.

If you are at all familiar with Bondo (body filler), you mix the hardener into the paste, after you mix, it cures to a rock. Epoxy is the same thing (literally); bondo is epoxy with, hmm, blanking... nylon I believe.

How to apply?