Oversized wood

a_10lodr

OK, I am very new to the wood working arena and am currently stationed in Germany. The wood shop on base has a pretty decent assortment of nice hardwoods, however they only have it in a limited size selection. I want to make a nesting serving tray set for my wife as my first project. The project calls for 1/2" wood and I was thinking of going a little bit thicker and going 9/16". The problem I am having is the thinnest board size is 5/4. I want to project to turn out nice as you would expect, but other than running the wood through a jointer/planer to remove the large excess I am at a loss. I thought about trying to cut it down on a band saw, however I'm not sure if I went this direction what the best amount would be to remove and still have enough to plane out to the size I want. Any help you guys/gals can provide would be greatly appreciated.

I think the bandsaw idea is the best. Since you're likely new to resawing, you could rip the stock to something a little wider than the sides of the trays (I'm assuming they have sides). Run that through the bandsaw to split the 5/4 into, well, 2.5/4 :) Turn the resawn piece inside out (put the freshly cut faces out, "old" faces back to back) and clamp together to let settle overnight; helps with my stock, but Arizona is a little drier.

If that resawing turns out okay for you, consider resawing the rest of the stock for the tray bottom.

Planing 5/4 down to 1/2" would be hugely wasteful and this is a perfect opportunity to get into some resawing. Maybe have someone there help you out with it to feel comfortable. You'll still need to plane it all later.

+1 to Paul-Marcel. Resaw is the way to go. Why turn your nice 5/4 stock into sawdust and chips when you can use the cutoffs for other projects?