Hand Planes and Hardwood

tonywill

This is my first attempt to use a plane, a brand new Anant Kamal No. 5 Jack Plane. I tuned it up, as best I could. I was practicing on some scrap cypress and managed to get reasonably decent shavings. I moved on to hard maple and now I get nothing but sawdust. I tweaked the plane a bit, but still get nothing but dust.

Is hardwood planed differently than soft?

Tony,

Basic planing technique is the same on hard and soft woods. The biggesst difference is harder woods are less forgiving, and Hard maple is definatley at the top of the hardness scale. The cypress cuts real easy, so it's not too diffucult to get a decent shaving. For hardwoods, you need a razor sharp iron, and by razor sharp, I mean sharp enough to shave with. You also need a well tuned plane, which means it has to have a dead flat sole, and must be adjusted propperly. Finally, you need propper technique - And writing about propper technique is kind of like dancing about architecture, if that makes any sense...

Anyway, Break it down into those three steps. Once the plane iron is razor sharp, and you have it tuned propperly, the only element left is technique.

If there are questions along the way, I'd be happy to help

-gp

Tony,

Just wanted to let you know that I've been able to get an Anant #4 tuned to be a really good plane. I've had success with cyprus, maple, cherry, walnut, douglas fir, all hardnesses of wood. I'd expect you could get that jack plane going well too.

Make sure the the forward-most edge of the chip breaker is actually pressing on the plane iron... you may need to grind/sand/file/hone the blade face of the chip breaker to a very small angle to make sure the edge is on the plane iron. If it's not, your plane iron is going to flex and chatter and you're not going to get very good shavings.