Refinishing a Walnut base

difalkner

Your piece looks fantastic! I am new to wood working and am curious about how the stain works after applying a sanding sealer? And without stripping the piece too. Was there much change in color when you added the stain. I've never used a sanding sealer but it seems like if you put a sealer on first that the stain would no longer penetrate the wood. Just thought I'd ask. Thanks for confirming that the sealer went on before the stain. Tonya

• Like 1

Thanks, Tonya!  The toner I used isn't for staining bare wood, although you could use it for that. Rather, it is a transparent dye to be used in lacquer for toning an existing finish.  In that case it goes over the gloss coat I first laid down.  I use it in a small touch up gun and just lightly dust it on until I get the desired color.  Once that color is achieved then a coat or two of gloss on top will keep it looking that way.  The drawback is that if you have to sand I after the toning you'll burn right through to the original color.  So you have to get all the surfaces flat and sanded like you want before applying the toner. 

It may sound like a lot of steps but it's really pretty straight forward.  And I just realized that I said I used Perfect Brown but what I actually used is Van Dyke Brown (slightly more red than Perfect Brown).

David

• Like 1