Olive Wood Pairing

Rube

Howdy Folks,

I just got my hands on some olive wood and want to make a jewelry or make-up box for my wife. What would be a good accent wood to go with that? THis is my first project that will not involve rebuilding the fence or wood from the box stores. Wish me luck.

Rube

I'll have to cut it up and make boards out of it first before taking pictures. My Woodcraft was selling logs of olive wood and cut one open to share with everyone. I was thinking the same thing about the walnut, though. I'll try to get it cut up in a day or two and post pics. 

2 hours ago, Eric. said:

Got a pic?  Olivewood can vary quite a bit from board to board.  My gut says that walnut would be a nice pair with the creamy color of the olive.

Here's the only pic I have of it now. Not that much to look at. 

IMG_1271.JPG

Slice off a piece and weigh it on an accurate digital scale. Record the weight and check it every few days/weeks. When the weight stabilizes it's reached an equilibrium and it might take heat to dry it further.   Even if the weight of the piece stabilizes quickly that doesn't mean the center of the log might not still be wet.

• Thanks 1

4 hours ago, Eric. said:

Do you know the MC of that log?  You may get a few unpleasant surprises if you go hacking on it willy-nilly and it's not dry.

I do not know what MC means, sorry. Still a bit of a noob to some of the acronyms here. I do plan on getting a metal detector and moisture meter done though. Ahhhhh! Does MC mean moisture content?

1 hour ago, Ronn W said:

+1 Eric - It is unlikey that that log is as dry as you want it.

I was planning on letting it sit for a while until I get my moisture meter. That will be at least another two months so I can take advantage of some Black Friday sales. 

13 minutes ago, K Cooper said:

With that collection of hand planes, those must be pretty nice fences you're rebuilding;)