Getting rid of dust and fumes

NIC

I work in a garage and when I sand I have a lot of dust in the air. What is the best way to get rid of that in the air? Can I buy those exhaust fan (the ones that have two fans) and mount that on a window? Would an air filter system work better? I am on a pretty limited budget. 

3 minutes ago, drzaius said:

For a limited budget, you can't beat a fan that just blows it all out the window. This assumes that it isn't too cold outside to do that. You should also were a good respirator, even with the fans. They are not expensive.

I have read some about people talking about "negative pressure." Do I need to worry about this since my furnace and hot water heater are in the garage? Will that cause a Carbon Monoxide danger?  

If you place a fan in a window and use it to exhaust air from your shop it will create negative pressure in the garage.  If you have an open window on the other side of the garage,  or partly open the garage door, to let in a goodly flow of air that negative pressure will be more than relieved and there will be plenty of air for the exhaust fan to exhaust and the furnace to burn and expel up the flue.  

If you install an exhaust fan and don't let any outside air in to replace what gets exhausted you will create negative pressure and begin to draw flue gasses into the garage.  Also you won't really be getting rid of much dust.

So an exhaust fan can work to clear the air of dust if you move enough cubic feet per minute out the window and replace at least that much (or more) with fresh outside air. 

If your shop is in a very cold or very hot climate, this may not be a desirable solution.  So an alternative is an air filtration unit.  There is a thread in The Shop:  

which touches on this topic.  There are numerous air filtration units out there.  In that thread there is a reference to a Wen unit that was pretty cheap.  There is also the small Rikon unit and take a look at the Grizzly line.