New Dovetail saw: where to get it sharpened?

Freddie

My girlfriend just bought me a Crown 8 inch 203mm dovetail saw for my birthday. I wanna send it out to get sharpened so it performs the best it can. Im from the long island area, and I was wondering if anyone can recommend a sharpening company that will properly tune up and sharpen my saw? Also, are there certain things i should mention, like setting up to a riptooth configuration, plz help im new to this. Thank you.

My girlfriend just bought me a Crown 8 inch 203mm dovetail saw for my birthday. I wanna send it out to get sharpened so it performs the best it can. Im from the long island area, and I was wondering if anyone can recommend a sharpening company that will properly tune up and sharpen my saw? Also, are there certain things i should mention, like setting up to a riptooth configuration, plz help im new to this. Thank you.

Hi Freddie

First of all, sharpening is not hard to do and there are lots of good websites with great info (Google is your friend :)).

But if you really want to send it out, try Bad Ax Tools (Mark Harrell)

Happy sawdust

Jeremy

Freddie,

First off if the saw was just purchased new then don't sharpen it. It is for the most part good to go. Unless you are experienced in saws you wouldn't notice the difference between the factory sharpening and what one of the experts will do (unless it was really bad to start with). Go out and cut dovetails now and in a year send it out to get it touched up or learn to sharpen it by then.

That being said eventually it will need sharpening. I am with Jeremy that learning to sharpen saws is fairly easy. A dovetail saw with small teeth may not be ideal as your first try, but it can be done. Take a look at Vintage Saws - Saw Filing Primer as a place to start the journey. Even with the occasional odd looking tooth my home sharpened saws work better than new.