Re-Finishing a Mahogany Side Table

Another Newbie

Hi,

I have been doing some research on refinishing a mahogany side table. I have sanded it down (up to 120 grit) and am wanting to finish it with Tung Oil. I love the beautiful color and grain of the natural wood.

Only, I have finished Mahogany before with stain and had gotten a blotchy effect - that with using a Wood conditioner first. Not sure what I did wrong but want to avoid this problem again.  Shall I use a Wood conditioner before using the Tung oil? I have Varathane Pre-stain wood conditioner. 

Lastly, should I go up in sandpaper grain (to 220 or so?) (oh, and poly on top?) That's it!

I'm new at this and have been figuring out things myself as I go along but have made mistakes in almost all of my projects. Not dealbrreakers, but I want do do this one right.

Any help you can provide would be awesome.

Thanks - Rebecca

Tung oil is not all created equal. Pictures of your project as well as exactly what tung oil you are using (Manufacturer, can etc) will go a long way in helping you. At this point guess work is the best someone can provide.

Tung oil is not all created equal. 100% pure tung oil is created from the nut of the Tung tree. Tung oil finish sold by Watco for example is not 100% pure tung oil, it is more a polyurethane finish that has some tung oil in it among many other things. Pure tung oil applies drastically different than polyurethane. Poly may benefit from a pre-stain conditioner while that same conditioner will prevent the tung oil from working at all.

This isn't even touching the Mahogany portion of the question. Which Mahogany? Is it true Mahogany, a close relative, or is it one of the look alikes? I don't expect you to know this but a picture can get us in the ball park.

First, before you do any more sanding, make sure you are dealing with solid mahogany and not a veneer. You can easily and quickly sand through the veneer and then you have big problems.