Rough Cut - what to look for?

Indy Cindy

A friend of mine has a woods that he manages, mostly for firewood but he also mills lumber. I hope to go out there next weekend, but since I am a beginning woodworker and have only used maple purchased at Rockler I don't know what to look for.

This is what he has:

"1000's of board feet of lumber all of it rough cut...dimensions vary: typical length 4 to 14' typical width 3 to 14" I try to cut at 3/4 or 4/4 but have some 5/4 and several pieces of 8/4 (Red Oak and Black Cherry). I also have a lot of unusual pieces that fall outside these dimensions including turning stock. In descending order based on estimated volume, the types of wood I have include: Black Cherry, Black Walnut, Hickory, Soft Maple, American Elm, Red Oak, White Ash, White Oak, White Pine, Hard Maple, Osage Orange."

This is how he dries it:

"For the drying process, I typically air dry the wood for several months and then I place the stack under the solar kiln for another month. The problem with relying on a solar kiln is that I have a difficult time getting any heat during the winter. So I do have a back-up at the kiln. Nevertheless, I do manage to run some stacks through the kiln each summer."

So which species are particularly desirable? I will get some cherry, but what else should I consider?

As I look at the boards what should I be looking for?

What else do I need to know?

Thanks!