planing birdeseye maple

tdale51@yahoo.com

Hello All,

I'll soon be starting a 3 in 1 baby crib for my daughter's first child. Needless to say I'm very excited. I'm also a little apprehensive, I want to build it out of birdseye maple. I've never worked with it before and I'm scared to death of ruining $4-500 worth of lumber by tearing it out in the thickness planer/jointer. I have a Ryobi 13inch benchtop planer and a Rigid 6 1/8 inch jointer. The planer has new blades and the jointer has seen less than 100BF of lumber, mostly Douglas fir and walnut. I've read about planing it thicker than you need and finishing it off with a drum sander. I don't have a drum sander and I don't know anybody that does. Any other suggestions for working with BEM? I surely would appreciate it. Thanks to all.

Since you are doing a crib, I assume there are slats on the sides and since you haven't mentioned turning, you'll have rectangular slats. Is that correct? Or are you doing a crib with solid sides? If you are doing one with predominantly flat solid sides, I'd look at buying Bird's Eye Maple veneer. It will be far and away more figured than hardwood you'll easily find and the cost is considerably less. You don't need a vacuum press to veneer: Melamine (MCP) and clamps can get you by, depending on the size.

Look at the selection at VeneerSupplies.com. That link is to the natural BEM; if you go up a level you'll see a selection of dyed BEM as well. The sheets in the photos are the ones you are buying.

Other advantage: you'll apply the veneer on other wood that will be cheaper and planer-friendly. At the end, hand sanding the BEM is all it will take.

That site also sells a book on veneering that is pretty good; you'd just want to know how to apply the BEM sheets, which involves flattening it with softener, a good veneer glue, and pressing it with uniform pressure (like Melamine and clamps as a press). I don't have that book, but have looked at it. I prefer this book by Mike Burton.