cannot seem to plane end-grain

thaitang

Hi gang,

I live in a "very" remote corner of Asia and life is good, except I took it upon myself to make some much! needed furniture. Tools are hard to come by, but wood is easy to appropriate, hardwood at that, but I do not know what kind. But it is heavy and and I cannot for the life of me plane the ends of these planks.

I have bought myself a power drill, and all the rest of my tools must be hand tools as dictated by my budget. There is no such thing as different planes, so what I am including a photo of is standard fare and the only fare available. I have never used a plane before this past month, but almost immediately I got results (as in the good kind) planing the edges of these boards (1x4's and 2x4's in 1 & 2 meter lengths), but I cannot seem to get anything close to good results trying to plane the ends. I have treid in all direction in case I am going against the grain but I get the same problem, the plane digs into the wood and well does not float across like it does the edges.

I have tried backing off the blade until it is even not protruding, and although the plane glides freely no wood is shaved off. Then I sucked it up and began rasping and filing the ends, but GD that takes forever. One board took me all day yesterday to get perfectly square. This wood seems super hard, so I am not sure if that could be contributing to my problems, but it sure seemed to impede my rasping and filing efforts.