Considering spray ... should I ??

jsollows

I am a hobbiest woodworker and I'm considering purchase of an Earlex. I'm hestating because I do not have space for a dedicated spray booth. I also live on Canada's west coast where it rains 11 months of the year (at least it seems that way). Suffice it to say that spraying outdoors is pretty much impossible except perhaps in July and August. I have visions of all my hand tools and power tools in the small garage shop, covered in a fine mist of paint. Is that a legitimate concern with the Earlex and is there anything I can do to prevent it?

Dwacker...can probably speak to the west coast humidity thing, he is from WA.

Yep spraying finishes gives you good amounts of over-spray, remember you spray multiple coats so multiple over-spray. I spray with a compresses air gun from Iwata, its an LVLP ...still get a fair amount of over-spray. Just try to keep everything covered up with bed sheets or plastic. Think of it as sawdust...it goes everywhere. I find shellac and varnish seems to be the worst. Shellac seems to stick to about everything and varnish just stays sticky. Water-based finishes wipe off like sawdust.

I spray large cases and such in the garage. Small clocks and boxes, I spray water-based finishes over a down-draft table I made using a furnace motor and stacked furnace filters in my basement workshop.

Spraying opens up so many finishing option to you...outweighs by far, any over-spray on the tools.

-Ace-