Seemingly easy tasks that are hard...

sbarton22

I find that the hardest form to turn is a straight line. Any angle on the tool and you are off. I can use my 1" straight edge scraper to get close, but find I always have to rely on a sanding block to get there.

I turned an aluminum and purpleheart pepper mill, and it is just a straight cylinder. The design is very simple, but the effort to make it simple was really tough. I would have never thought that and I'm sure the person I am giving it to won't understand it either.

I also find that in my pen vise, I will get a run of crooked holes. How can I possibly be making such an easy task this complicated?

On the other hand, I suppose, I just made a pentel .9mm pencil conversion, which is a seemingly difficult task, quite easily. So easily, in fact, that I don't quite understand why so many other people struggle with it.

I am pretty new to turning as well, and have found make a solid cylinder one of the more difficult tasks to accomplish. This kinda reminds me of my high school days in marching band. We could make beautiful curved formations on the field, but never a straight line!

One of the other more experienced turners will probably jump in here soon too, but I have found, after getting it close to final dimension taking it a small section at a time using calipers and a straight edge to make a good and consistent cylinder. Mark the high areas with a pencil, the LIGHTLY bring those areas down to the needed dimension.

Scott,