Spokeshave

nateswoodworks

Does anybody have any experience with these, I enjoy doing tuning and finessing but I don't want complete junk either. I already have my main spokeshave but would like to see how much I would use the variety before spending on top-shelf, any input or other suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Nate

http://www.leevalley.com/US/wood/page.aspx?p=32681&cat=1,50230&ap=1

Well, it isn't what you asked, but I have no experience with those spokeshaves. However, Lee-Valley's other spokeshaves are excellent. I got the three-pack, which came in a roll. I have used them for shaping a lot of curved pieces for a bathroom remodel as well as completely shaping varying-length handles for a closet built-in. Further, I got their pull-shave for working a drawer front. It works very very well. By comparison, I've seen some "convex" spokeshaves... what an engineering punt. They take a regular spokeshave and put a convex blade on it. Presumably if you are working the bottom of a cove or something, the handles that flare out laterally will have you knocking knuckles on the surface and maybe not even getting to the bottom of that cove (even a shaped seat bottom would be a knuckle buster). The pull-shave rocks for this.

I have one but have had little success with them. I am sure that is because I haven't assigned too much time in truing, setting it up, and of course the practice time. But I have found that they can be very useful in rough removal of wood on concave curves and knocking off corners to soften an edge/. I know that with more time it could be a much more useful tool.

LQQK

I have one but have had little success with them. I am sure that is because I haven't assigned too much time in truing, setting it up, and of course the practice time. But I have found that they can be very useful in rough removal of wood on concave curves and knocking off corners to soften an edge/. I know that with more time it could be a much more useful tool.

LQQK