Skill Building Projects

adkinsjd

I'm fairly new to wood working, and I have built a couple of minor projects so far (wall shelf, Adirondack chair, outdoor planter container). Those projects have been pretty forgiving to my cut accuracy, squareness, etc. Ultimately I want to make larger pieces of furniture (dining room, bed room) and cabinetry for the kitchen without it looking like something I made myself.

I'm thinking about making "nesting" boxes with mitered corners. I figure that would give me a lot of practice cuts without going through too much wood / expense. I would get practice with relative dimensioning, measuring, angles, etc.

So what are some smaller skill building projects that the community would recommend?

I think the boxes would be nice.

How about...

- lap desk with a dovetailed drawer?

- dovetailed step stool (Tommy MacDonald style)

- tool tote, with fancy corner joinery

- Have an iPad or tablet? A "book" stand for it.

- Tile trivet

I'd also check The Woodwhisperer and Popular Woodworking's "I can do that" series for skill builders.

Enjoy!

Are you all hand tools? If so, there was an episode of WTO where Shannon talked about his trip to the Acanthus workshop. Shannon said that chuck Bender came them all little blocks that were all sorts of banged up and told them to flatten all 6 sides and make sure everything is square and parallel. (I think its episode 73). That would be great handplane practice. If your looking to practice your dovetail skills, Matt V talkes about how he would cut 1 set of dovetails everynight. Doing this means your practicing marking/measuring, realative dimension, your saw skills and your chisel skills.

Hope this helps!

If your looking to practice your dovetail skills, Matt V talkes about how he would cut 1 set of dovetails everynight. Doing this means your practicing marking/measuring, realative dimension, your saw skills and your chisel skills.

Hope this helps!