Finishing Douglas Fir Mantle

jp4LSU

Newbie here looking for advice. In addition to this project I'll be refinishing a dining room set soon, so I'm sure I'll need some advice for that as well.

Subject: Doug Fire Hand Hewn Mantle and Corbels

Concern: Raised grain running down face of corbel and raised end grain

Desired result: http://www.larryjwhe...album=121&pos=0

My mantle is identical to the one pictured in the link. Made by same timber company. You can see the raised grain running down the corbel and at the end.

Question: How can I acheive this look?

Current Path: Staining with Dark Walnut Stain to desired darkness which will be really dark. Then finish with multiple coats of Tung Oil

I'm worried about the raised grain really standing out with lighter color, which is not desired. Basically I'm trying to achieve the same even finish as in the picture. Even finish where grain is blended in with surrounding wood. I've not done Doug Fir before and am not sure how the grain behaves.

Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks,

JP

The one in the picture is likely not stained or dyed. Instead, the topcoat, whether it is poly or laquer, is likely toned and the whole thing sprayed. Keeping the color on the surface of the wood is the only way to avoid blotching and unevenness in the finish with these soft woods and uneven rough textures. For something like the picture, try either coloring shellac with something like TransTint dye, or you could try a commercial product like Minwax Polyshades which is basically a colored polyurethane varnish. Try it on scrap (preferrably) or a hidden area of the piece first to make sure it's what you want.

Thanks Bob. I was afraid it was something like that. Now I've not used shellac before.

Is it easy to work with or is the Minwax polyshade easy to work with?

Polyshades:

Can you apply more than one coat to desired darkness? Is it one and done?

Is it available in satin or flat? I don't want shiny at all but a muted finish.