Router Table of my dreams

sj2494

i am not new to working with wood but i am new to furnature making. i know that good tools are worth there weight in gold amd here is my idea for a router table. Im going to build by own cabnet on casters and have space for bits and other routery stuff. Im probably going to buy a Incra top and ls positioner i dont know what base or router i want to use. i was thinking about the new wood pecker plate but didnt know if anyone that has had one also what size and or model router should i get i realy hate to buy thing twice and i have always had good luck with makita and portercable. any thoughts. also look for my shop build in the future in 2 weeks i am building a dedicated shop out in my back yard and getting out of the boiler room.

If you decide on a Woodpeckers router plate, they sell TwistLock ring inserts. Some are phenolic, others aluminum. They are discontinuing the aluminum due to costs. If you go for this plate and prefer the aluminum inserts, you might want to snag them before they are gone. Just checked now, actually, and they are off the site's regular catalog, but in the clearance, there's a set in condition 'C' (some scratches) at half price. Likely a demo. Call them if you want a new one in case. Again, just if you want the aluminum ones.

If you decide on a Woodpeckers lift, verify it does everything you need for your router. For example, the super slick PRLv2 lift works with my Bosch 1617 router, but that particular model can't be lifted for above-table bit changes.

If you plan on putting the router in the table with a lift and never really taking it out (i.e., you have a freehand router), you can usually save money on the bigger routers by buying the motor only.

here are some good reviews of routers and lifts.

http://www.newwoodworker.com/reviews/pc7518rvu.html porter cable 3 1/4 hp router

http://www.newwoodworker.com/reviews/eliminchuckrvu.html RC eliminator chuck