Using Hard Maple

pghmyn

I'm relatively new to hardwoods other than Oak. I love the color of Maple when finished, and that is why I chose this material to work with next.

How hard is Maple to work with compared to Oak? Are there some specifics I should look out for? I plan on buying a brand new table saw blade and jointer blades to ensure my project goes smoothly. But if there is anything else I should do, let me know :)

The only oak I have used is red oak. However, I will say that I think Maple is easier to work with then red oak. The open grain of the red oak seems to make it a little more prone to tear out.

The challenge with maple comes in when you go to finish it. With stains Maple can be blotchy. You may want to consider a sanding sealer or Charles Neil's blotch control.

I agree with MikeM. I've found red oak to be a little more chip- and tearout-prone than maple. When it comes to maple, be mindful of the species. All maple is hard and I think machines well, but 'hard maple' (also known as rock or sugar maple) really requires your tools to be at their sharpest. "Soft maple" is not a specific species but rather a collection of species, but it is also quite hard compared to other woods. Some of the figured maple (curly, birdseye) can cause grief with jointing and planing so be careful.I know my knife-based jointer sometimes has tearout when face jointing hard maple, but my planer with a Shelix head has no issues.

I found this to be an interesting read.... http://www.wood-data...and-soft-maple/

Marc also has an article on staining maple http://www.thewoodwhisperer.com/articles/staining-maple/

Basically, in a nutshell, I would be okay going with Soft Maple for a project such as an entertainment stand? Is there really a color difference between Hard and Soft Maple? I see at my hardwood dealer they only offer 3/4" plywood in Hard Maple.

With the finish, I intend to give it a clear coat, or something to make it just a shade darker.