Cabinet Doors wood

coronalu

hello, my friends, I'm new at woodworking but I've built two hallway cabinets with a space between them and over the bottom cabinet, I've installed a granite counter, the cabinet is white and the granite is black and I need to make some doors, my wife wants white doors, which i agree with but we're not sure if we want to go with a solid white panel or frosted glass type of panel, anyway, since I am going to paint the door (stiles and rails) and perhaps the panel, I need help on figuring out what type of wood to use for the stiles and rails and also for the panel, also if anyone knows of a way to paint them so that they look great,please let em know. Thank you!!! Luis

Luis - what re the cabinets made from?

Poplar takes paint fairly well and is relatively inexpensive. You could make a solid panel from poplar if you are looking at a raised panel construction, but if you want a plain flat panel set into the frame then you could use some sort of plywood.

Spraying always gives a nice result but I leave that to the finishing experts here. How did you finish the cabinets when you built them?

FWIW, I've always found white to be a bear to truly match....you might keep that in mind. Or, prepare to paint both cabinets and doors at the same time.

Luis, if you are painting the doors then you have a lot of options on the wood you use. I've seen a lot of the panels lately made from MDF and the stiles and rails from poplar, maple, alder, or basswood. All of those make great paint grade woods and have a smooth texture to start with. Stay away from open grained woods like oak or you will double your prep time.

I just made 8 large photo frames for my wife that needed to be painted. I used poplar. As mentioned, poplar takes paint really well. It is also easy to work with either machines or hand tools, and poplar is hard enough to withstand the occassional bump (unlike pine).

poplar is hard enough to withstand the occassional bump (unlike pine)