Wood buying advice needed!

Jay Johnston

I'm relatively new to woodworking. My local hardwood store is going out of business and has lumber discounted 35-50%. I wanted to take advantage of this sale, but I'm not sure what I should buy.

They have poplar 5/4 & 8/4@ 1.50 bf, walnut 5/4 & 8/4 @ 4.40 bf, cherry 5/4 & 8/4 @ $4.10 bf. all that is s2s. I have about $5-600 to buy up some wood, but since I haven't built much, just a few small tables & shop projects, I'm not sure where my money would be well spent?

If you have any advice for me it would be greatly appreciated. They also have other woods - alder, ash, white oak, red oak, and exotics, but those were the main ones I thought about.

I have acess to a bandsaw for redrawing.

Might give you just an idea of recent prices, walnut 8/4 here (Montreal, Canada) is 6.25$, so at 4.40 it seem great, the cherry (its been a while was 4.25 for 4/4 here) not sure for 8/4, nothing s2s, ruff. zebrawood 8/4 14$bf, af. Mahogany 8/4 6.30$ish, i had some plaine/soft maple really cheap like 2$. Not sure what else.

It depend of your projects really if you perfer small nice wood project or if you have big stuff in mind, some ash at 2$ ish could do a lot, etc.

This company have price online it might help you judge also its in the US.

http://hearnehardwoods.com/hardwoods/pricelist/pricelist.html

Personally I love working with both walnut and cherry. Also if they have some wenge some of that also. It is awesome accent pieces if not full. Purple Heart is also great but hard to work from experience. Never go wrong with oak or maple.

Do you have any projects in mind for the future? Work bench?

would like to build a workbench in the future but don't really know what I need yet. Ive only built a few small projects, and still trying to see where I want to go with my woodworking. although I was considering buying some hard maple just for that project, but they have sold all that they had.