Outdoor table build log

Guido_de

Hi everyone,

I’d like to use this thread to post pictures and build progress of my outdoor table build. The idea was triggered by Marc’s most recent videos on the free site of TWW. While the general proportions will follow Marc’s design, the table will be a little less rustic. In essence, it will be a plain table with stretchers underneath the table top and a leg in each corner – not fancy anything there.

Before I start with the project, I’d like to briefly describe where I’m standing with regard to woodworking:

I started playing around with wood about 15 months ago and was largely motivated by the Marc’s videos. These videos opened a new world for me and ever since I have spent quite a bit of time and money in and on the shop. Not that I’d regret anything;). The outdoor set will be my biggest build so far. I’m based in Germany which might explain why some of the powertool brands I use are not that familiar to you. Also, I do work with the metric system;).

The project will be build from rough cut douglas fir that I acquired recently. Unfortunately the six large boards were not enough, which will mean that I need to buy a bit more from a home centre. The work will be done mostly using powertools, however, due to a small combined jointer and planer and the lack of a drum sander handplanes will be used to flatten the bench and table tops.

The first step was laying and roughing out the pieces from the 2,5m*,35-,5m 4cm thick boards using a track saw. The last shot shows the stack of cut boards. I mssed uup the shots a bit, next psots will have photos of a higher quality.

Next step, when my rollerstands are delivered, will be the breakdown of the remaining pieces on the table saw, followed by milling. I intend to mill the pieces as I need them and will start with the benches to get a feel for the construction and the big table glue up.

Cheers

Guido

post-6655-0-63373100-1382368908_thumb.jp